Suite for Viola and Piano (1919)

by Ernest Bloch (1880-1959)

I. Lento - Meno lento - Animato
II. Allegro ironico
III. Lento
IV. Molto vivo

I performed Bloch’s piece for my master’s recital at the University of Oregon. While Bloch is mainly known for her “Jewish works,” this piece was inspired by a vision of the “Far East” including Java, Sumatra, and Borneo. In this piece, one may envision the jungle with wild bird calls and monkey sounds, creepy creatures in the dark, warm tropical nights, and the cheerful sun.